The Best and Worst Award Show Fashion

So over this past week we saw fashion from both the Grammys and the BAFTAs, It would be a shame not to voice my opinion on some of these great and not so great looks.

The Grammys

The Worst

Girl Crush and Cee Lo Green

All I can say is why? I get that the Grammys is an award show that allows for fashion to be flexible and statement. But what sort of statement were these two making? Girl Crush looking like a walking ball pit and Cee Lo as iron man wrapped in gold leaf.

katy-perry-d567564d-3354-4f9c-8aef-1b21ee22186f

Katy Perry Wearing Tom Ford

The only think I like about this look is the hair! Katy Perry with blonde hair is amazing and its perfectly styled, not too messy but messy enough. On the other hand I think the dress is horrific, it looks like two completely different outfits put together. Mostly the thing that puts me off this dress  is the dropped waist line. If it was just under her bust I really think she could of pulled off the shaggy bottom. But with the waist line where it is the dress completely drowns Katy’s figure.

img_5330

Jenifer Lopez Wearing Ralph & Russo

I really was disappointed by this look, Jlo is usually someone I’m excited to see on the carpet. Firstly the very DIY looking embellishment on the neck is the part I don’t like the most. It could have been salvaged if she wore her hair up so that the detail could be fully seen. I also do not like the color it just seems like a really tacky prom dress color to me.

grammys-2017-best-dressed-adele

Adele Wearing Givenchy

I feel so bad for not liking this that much. I just cant get over all the clashing patterns and textures on this one dress. However I do think it really flatters Adele’s figure in a very classy way. Also I do like the color and it is quite different to the usual black embroidered gowns we are used to seeing her in. Another thing I did actually like was her make-up, her eyes really stole the show.

 The Best

Rihanna Wearing Armani Prive

RiRi can do no wrong in my book but this look is amazing. Usually id say orange and black is hard to pull off without looking very Halloween esque but she managed it. I love how the crop top fits perfectly around her tattoo and how her warm toned hair complements the orange top.

The 59th GRAMMY Awards - Red Carpet

Lea Michele Wearing Roberto Cavalli

I LOVE THIS! I’m always a fan of a very embellished/ beaded outfit. I am also glad this was a two piece not a full dress as I feel that may have been too much but having her waist on display breaks up the heavy embellishment. One of the things I am not sure on is the pink eye shadow, I cant figure out if I love it as it gives her an alien like look or I hate it.

Demi Lovato Wearing Julien Macdonald

This is my favourite look of the Grammys as a whole. The cut outs on this dress are perfect and really accentuate her figure. At first glance this dress does not look too revealing however it is completely see through which makes it even better. The thing I loved most about this look was the hair and make-up. The hair is ultimate goals and the glowing bronze make up really tops it all off and incorporates the gold from the dress.

rs_634x1024-170212173453-634-lady-gaga-cm-21217

Lady Gaga Wearing Alex Ulichny

The only thing I can say about this look is that I love how Gaga came back with the wild and crazy outfits. This was a massive rewind from her polished look that she was sporting in 2016.

Beyonce Wearing Peter Dundas

I have mixed opinions about beyonce’s looks. The first dress which she performed in was amazing and fit her so well. However the dress she changed into after the performance was too much for me. I fell like is was a massive change after the first ethereal look. The red, the sequins and the pregnancy just did not go well together. She could have chosen a dress that really made the best of her bump but the sequins really extenuated it too much.

The BAFTAs

The Worst

Amy Adams Wearing Tom Ford

This column dress does nothing for Amy Adams except the color suits her hair and skin tone.

thumbnail_img_5325

Sophie Turner Wearing Louis Vuitton

It seems that Sophie Turner just loves wearing metallic dresses which I’m not a fan of on her. I feel that she would look amazing in just black or a really bright color to stand out against her pale skin.

 The Best

Emily Blunt Wearing Alexander McQueen

Embroidery is such a massive trend this year yet this is the first look I have seen on the red carpet incorporating it. I love both the embroidered top and the ruffled skirt however I would have preferred it to have not had such a high neck line.

thumbnail_img_5313

Millie Mackintosh Wearing Sarah Baadarani

I loved this look, Millie was serving some real old Hollywood glamour. Yellow is an up and coming color on the carpet and in general for this spring. The tone of this dress is amazing as it makes yellow an easier color to wear and not so intimidating due to its brightness.

thumbnail_img_5320

Emma Stone Wearing Chanel

YES YES YES! I have never seen anything like this before done so well. A dress and trousers??? usually a big no no as I’m all too familiar with from my time regrettably rocking it as a child. The dress alone would have been amazing but the trousers pushed the boundary a little. I like the fact that the accessories are very minimal and lets the outfit speak for itself, I especially love the cute pearl anklet. Overall this fit Emma and her style perfectly.

thumbnail_img_5326

Anya Taylor-Joy Wearing Gucci

This was my favourite look of the BAFTAs, mostly because I love anything Gucci does lately. I love the pleats and the layers as well as the color combination. The tiger embellishment just tops it off to become the real focal point of the dress.

 

 

 

What was your opinion on some of these looks?

 

Leave a Reply

